The worldwide record store directory featuring store listings and reviews from the US, England, Japan, Canada and beyond : guide review usa stores shops new york london tokyo
soundstagedirect.com is a sponsor or RecordStoreReview.com
HomeAdd New StoreAdvertiseDonate

Cobraside Distribution Inc. -- the US wholesale vinyl specialist [ Register ]   [ Login ]

Find a local store: Search for Records:
1. 2. 3. Enter keywords below:

Refine search by style


advanced search
advanced search



1 Store Found. Displaying Stores 1 - 1

Dusty Groove America
1120 N. Ashland Ave.
Chicago, Illinois, U.S.A.
60622
view map


Phone: 773-342-5800
E-mail: dga@dustygroove.com
Web site: www.dustygroove.com

Size: Large
New/Used: New & Used
Formats: Vinyl, CD
Styles: Jazz, Experimental, Collectibles, Country, Hip-Hop, Electronic, Dance, Funk, Soul, Blues, Drum & Bass, House, Latin, Reggae, World, Techno, R&B, Soundtracks
Listening Post: Unknown


store logo or photo

I order from the Dusty Groove website almost exclusively and these guys are without a doubt, the best music retailer in the entire US. They offer a wide variety of music with decent prices and excellent customer service. Highly recommended!
submitted by mech1, 2003-09-30 22:08:38
Report Abuse


I was just in Chicago for the first time and visited Dusty Groove, having searched their excellent website a few times. This store has a small but fabulous stock of albums with surprisingly great prices. I got to the store 30 minutes before closing and spent close to $300 without leaving the jazz or reggae sections. One of the best records stores I've been to.
submitted by jazyjef, 2003-11-06 00:33:27
Report Abuse


The best record store I've ever been to, and I live to buy cd's. Their strengths are funk, soul, soundtracks, jazz and Brazilian with smallish but well selected sections of hip hop, rock, reggae, vocal pop etc. They don't really have much house or electronica- if you want that go to Gramaphone on Broadway. They have a short description/review of EVERYTHING they have on their website and the staff is really great.
submitted by librarygeek, 2003-11-09 21:32:59
Report Abuse


wonderful selection of jazz & r&b. eclectic rock & oddball (lounge, etc.) selection. lots of vinyl (both new & used). great store. nice staff too. the fact that they actually have a functioning "take out" window is also endearing.
submitted by Robert, 2004-01-23 15:19:36
Report Abuse


Very fine record store in the classic sense. Anything old school R&b, jazz, funk can be found in a drop of a needle when checking on to the website. my money is well spent when I shop at Dusty Groove America.
submitted by dj jupiter 8, 2004-03-23 18:05:10
Report Abuse


Beautiful store with amazing selection of African, Brazilian, jazz, reggae, hip-hop, French, and soul/funk. They also have an interesting selection of rock and pop, including Arthur Brown, Dubliners, Marianne Faithfull, Felt, Roy Harper, Harry Nilsson, Scott Walker and Jimmy Webb. Currently they have a dozen Serge Gainsbourg reissues Iím drooling over.
submitted by Fastnbulbous, 2004-04-05 15:05:28
Report Abuse


Great store, awesome selection for the genres listed. Friendly staff. No listening stations but if you ask you may be able to listen off the main turntable. Found plenty of great 12"s and prices were good in my opinion. Will be going back after my next paycheck!
submitted by christian, 2004-08-24 20:13:32
Report Abuse


It's hard to give DG anything but five stars, at least when you consider that they've got the entire US reissue market (and best possible pricing thereof) in their back pocket. Selection and taste are the best in Chicago. Where else in the city are you going to consistently find the latest, say, Demon Fuzz or Oneness of JuJu reissues? Sometimes, their overly enthusiastic web reviews are good for a laugh, and I'd never buy used vinyl there (most expensive in the city), but just stepping in the store makes you feel like a collector who knows his or her stuff. Surprisingly gracious staff, considering that record knowledge generally breeds snobbery. Glad I'm within walking distance.
submitted by Felix, 2004-12-16 00:18:50
Report Abuse


I navigated my way through the unfamiliar (to me) streets of Chicago to find this place just before they moved to their current location. It was well worth the effort. I found stuff I'd been looking for for a long time, and some stuff I didn't know I wanted. There's now doubt I'll be pulling out the map to find them again.
submitted by Seth, 2005-06-23 14:11:06
Report Abuse


If I get into my college of choice in Chicago, I'll be more than excited to be making frequent visits to Dusty Groove. Being a fan of jazz music who is trying to expand on his collection, I was very excited to find lots of great records here. Nice staff, great selections for great prices, and generally a great atmosphere. One of the best.
submitted by Evan, 2006-02-05 23:22:56
Report Abuse


If you are looking for Rock or Pop vinyl, this is not your place.
submitted by Herb Atlas, 2006-08-13 10:21:43
Report Abuse


I probably bought something from Dusty Groove the day they went online. Rick was a regular at a store I helped manage in NYC and I was really excited for him to open. I probably order at least once a month from Dusty Groove and have NEVER been disappointed with selection, quality and service.
submitted by Pat. James Longo aka Primitive Sound System, 2007-06-12 12:55:07
Report Abuse


I am a music lover, DJ, and lastly, a record collector. I have been buying vinyl for the last 30 years in various east coast cities (Philly, New York, DC, Baltimore, Pittsburgh). Since the introduction of the internet, I have purchased vinyl from all over the world. While searching the internet one evening for a particularly hard to find remix (DJ Spinna remix of Donnie) I discovered Dusty Groove! All I can say is WOW! The lowest prices, the quickest shipping time, and I love the "Want List" notification. I have a friend who owns a record store in Pittsburgh and I even tell him that Dusty is the best internet record store I have come across. I have yet to visit the store, but I am planning a trip to Chicago for just that purpose. Keep up the great work Dusty Groove!
submitted by DJ Maximus, 2007-07-08 12:03:29
Report Abuse


-Has they have their own grading policy, they don't stick to it,by the way. They tell you that after the buy! I'm afraid that I've been the victim of a monumental swindle! look by yourself from an e-mail i got from them:"Please be aware that we do not use the Goldmine grading system. I have copied the conditions of our grading policy listed in our web site below. If you still feel that the LP you purchased does not fit the description of OUR grade, you can ship this back to us at your expense. We will only refund you for the cost of the LP, but not the return shipping, which might be more then the LP is worth. " In other words it's cheap, but it's crap! so a money looser trap!
submitted by guy sylvestre, 2008-12-18 13:58:25
Report Abuse


ABOUT RSR.comLEGALLINKSCONTACT US

Copyright 2002-2008 Planet of Sound Hifi Inc.